For most households, I’d start with the Amazon Basics 22 x 22-inch, 150-count pads: their quick-dry, five-layer design and larger pack make them a practical everyday pick. The Powools 34 x 28-inch, 100-pack stands out for puppies who need more landing space, while the Amazon Basics X-Large Heavy-Duty pads suit buyers who want a larger format with a sturdier design. The main tradeoff is coverage versus storage and replacement frequency; a bigger pad can catch more misses, but takes up more floor space. Layer count, pad dimensions, and pack size also vary across this lineup, so the best choice depends on your puppy’s habits and setup. Read on for the full comparison and help matching a pad to your routine.
Get furniture and decor delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- The 22 x 22-inch amazon.com/dp/B00MW8G6OC?tag=berkleyvallone-20&ascsubtag=dc-533090″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>amazon.com/dp/B00MW8G3YU?tag=berkleyvallone-20&ascsubtag=dc-533090″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>amazon.com/dp/B016C6EJ4S?tag=berkleyvallone-20&ascsubtag=dc-533090″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>amazon.com/dp/B07CWD5PX5?tag=berkleyvallone-20&ascsubtag=dc-533090″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>amazon.com/dp/B00MW8G62E?tag=berkleyvallone-20&ascsubtag=dc-533090″ target=”_blank” rel=”nofollow sponsored noopener”>Amazon Basics 150-count pack combines a quick-dry five-layer design with the largest stated count among the regular-size options, making it a practical choice for frequent changes.
- Powools’ 34 x 28-inch, 100-pack and Amazon Basics’ extra-large formats offer more coverage than standard pads, but need more floor and storage space.
- Pack count alone does not tell the whole value story: compare pad dimensions and construction as well as how often you expect to replace each pad.
- Heavy-duty and multi-layer labels signal a different priority from basic leak-proof formats, but buyers should still match the pad to their puppy’s output and placement surface.
- Several products come in closely related sizes or pack formats, including Amazon Basics and Powools options, so checking the exact dimensions and count can prevent an unintended repeat purchase.
| puppy training pad | Layers | Color | Count | Materials |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Honey Care All-Absorb Dog and | 5 | — | 120 pads | — |
| Powools Puppy Training Pads | 6 | Blue | — | — |
| Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Dog a | 5 | Blue and white | 100 pads | — |
| Amazon Basics Heavy-Duty Puppy | 5 | Blue and white | 50 pads | Plastic, non-woven fabric, tissues, pulp, SAP, and film |
| Powools Puppy Pads | 6 | Blue | — | Polymer, plastic, and cotton |
| Amazon Basics X-Large Leak-Pro | 5 | Blue and white | — | Polymer, polyethylene |
| COCOYO Dog Training Pads | 5 | White and blue | 50 pads | — |
| Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Dog a | 5 | — | 50 pads | — |
| Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Dog a | 5 | Blue and white | 150 pads | — |
| Powools Puppy Pads for Dogs | 6 | Blue | — | Plastic, polymer |
| BV Leak-Proof Puppy Training P | 6 | — | 100 pads | Plastic, polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP) |
| COCOYO Dog Training Pads | 5 | White | 30 pads | Polyethylene (PE), pulp, non-woven material, plastic sheet |
| Amazon Basics X-Large Heavy-Du | 5 | Blue and white | — | Plastic, non-woven fabric, tissues, pulp, superabsorbent polymer, and film |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Honey Care All-Absorb Dog and Puppy Training Pads, Small, 17.5 x 23.5 in, 120 Count
For puppy owners who want a pad that supports early potty cues, the Honey Care All-Absorb pairs a built-in attractant with an odor neutralizer. Its gel-forming core is listed to hold up to 3 cups, while the quick-dry surface and waterproof backing help limit tracking and floor damage. Compared with the Amazon Basics 22 x 22-inch pads, this pad is narrower and shorter, so it takes less room but offers less landing area for a puppy still learning to aim. The 120-count pack suits frequent changes, though the capacity claim needs caution: the product information gives conflicting figures, listing both 3 and 5 cups in different sections. I’d choose it for compact spaces and training cues, not for a large dog or buyers who need a clearly stated high-capacity pad.
Pros:- Built-in attractant may help establish a designated potty spot.
- Quick-dry surface and gel-forming core help reduce wet paw contact.
- Waterproof polyethylene backing helps protect floors.
- 120 pads support frequent replacement.
Cons:- The stated absorbency conflicts between 3-cup and 5-cup claims.
- 17.5 x 23.5-inch size offers less coverage than the 22 x 22-inch Amazon Basics pad.
- Small dimensions may be a poor fit for larger puppies or inaccurate aim.
Best for: Owners of small puppies who want a high-count pad with a built-in attractant for a crate, pen, or compact indoor potty area.
Not ideal for: Owners of larger puppies or anyone needing broad coverage or a consistent, clearly specified liquid capacity.
- Size:17.5 x 23.5 inches
- Count:120 pads
- Layers:5
- Listed absorbency:Up to 3 cups; another product section claims up to 5 cups
- Core materials:Super-absorbent polymer and fluff pulp
- Backing:Waterproof polyethylene film
- Features:Odor neutralizer and built-in dog attractant
- Intended age range:Puppy
Our verdict“Choose Honey Care for a compact pad with a training attractant, but skip it if you need wide coverage or dependable capacity information.”
Powools Puppy Training Pads, 34 x 28 in, 6-Layer, 50-Pack
The 34 x 28-inch format is the main reason to pick these Powools pads: it gives a puppy more room to land than the regular-size Amazon Basics 22 x 22-inch pads, which can matter in a pen or beside a crate. The six-layer core turns liquid into gel, and leakproof backing adds a barrier between accidents and floors or furniture. Foldable construction also makes the oversized pad easier to pack for a trip than its footprint suggests. The tradeoff is a 50-count pack, which means fewer replacements on hand than the 100-count Powools 22 x 22-inch option. These are disposable, and the larger folded stack can still take up storage space. I’d favor this pick when coverage matters more than pack count or compact storage.
Pros:- Large 34 x 28-inch surface provides more coverage than regular-size pads.
- Six-layer core turns liquid into gel.
- Leakproof backing helps protect floors and furniture.
- Foldable design supports storage and travel use.
Cons:- The 50-count pack requires more frequent restocking than 100-count options.
- Extra-large pads take more room to store than 22 x 22-inch pads.
- Disposable construction means each used pad must be replaced.
Best for: Puppy owners who need a wide disposable surface for a playpen, kennel, travel setup, or a puppy still learning to aim.
Not ideal for: People with limited storage or those who want a larger supply of pads in one pack.
- Size:34 x 28 inches
- Pack count:50
- Layers:6
- Material listed:Plastic
- Color:Blue
- Item weight:2,300 g
- Core behavior:Absorbent core turns liquid into gel
- Use:Dog training; suitable for home, crates, kennels, and travel
Our verdict“Choose these Powools pads when a broad landing area is more useful than compact storage or a high pad count.”
Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Dog and Puppy Training Pads, 22 x 22 Inches, 100 Count
These Amazon Basics pads stand out for a detail that affects placement: the 22 x 22-inch overall size includes a smaller 19 x 19-inch center pad, framed by a 1.65-inch border. The raised perimeter and plastic lining help contain leaks, while the five-layer, quick-drying core turns moisture into gel. A built-in attractant may also help a puppy associate the pad with the potty spot. Compared with the Amazon Basics Heavy-Duty 24 x 23-inch pads, this version has a smaller absorbent center and overall footprint, but its 100-count pack provides more pads than that product’s 50-count pack. I’d choose it for routine use in a defined indoor spot, while keeping the center-area measurement in mind if the puppy tends to miss the middle. The product listing also states that no manufacturer warranty applies.
Pros:- Four-sided raised border and plastic lining help contain leaks.
- Five-layer core turns liquid into gel.
- Quick-drying surface helps limit wet paw contact.
- Built-in attractant may support potty-spot training.
Cons:- Absorbent center measures 19 x 19 inches, smaller than the overall pad.
- Smaller footprint provides less coverage than the 24 x 23-inch Amazon Basics Heavy-Duty pad.
- No manufacturer warranty applies.
Best for: Owners of small or medium puppies who want a 100-count supply with a raised border for a consistent indoor potty station.
Not ideal for: Owners whose puppies need a large absorbent landing area or who prefer products with a manufacturer warranty.
- Overall dimensions:22 x 22 inches
- Center pad dimensions:19 x 19 inches
- Count:100 pads
- Layers:5
- Border:1.65 inches
- Material:Polyethylene (PE)
- Color:Blue and white
- Weight:3.2 kg
- Certification:FSC N004130
Our verdict“Pick this 100-count option for everyday use where border protection matters, but look to a larger pad if your puppy needs more room.”
Amazon Basics Heavy-Duty Puppy Pee Pads, 24 x 23 Inches, 50 Count
This Amazon Basics option gives buyers a modest step up in coverage without moving to an extra-large pad: the overall size is 24 x 23 inches, with a 21.5 x 20.7-inch center absorbent area. Its five-layer construction, quick-dry surface, gel-forming core, and four-sided raised border make it a practical choice for keeping routine accidents off nearby flooring. Compared with the regular Amazon Basics 22 x 22-inch pads, it has a larger center area, but the pack contains 50 rather than 100 pads. The built-in attractant may help support training, though it does not change the basic limitation of a regular-size disposable pad: a large puppy or a puppy that moves while urinating may need more coverage. Choose this version when the larger center is useful and a smaller pack is acceptable.
Pros:- Larger center absorbent area than the standard Amazon Basics 22 x 22-inch pad.
- Five-layer core turns liquid into gel.
- Quick-dry surface and four-sided raised border help manage accidents.
- Built-in attractant may help designate a potty spot.
Cons:- 50-count pack provides fewer pads than the 100-count regular-size Amazon Basics option.
- Regular-size format may not cover misses from larger puppies.
- The product description does not specify a liquid capacity.
Best for: Owners of small-to-medium puppies who want a larger absorbent center than a standard 22 x 22-inch pad.
Not ideal for: Owners of large puppies, frequent users who want a 100-count pack, or households needing extra-large floor coverage.
- Overall dimensions:24 x 23 inches
- Center pad dimensions:21.5 x 20.7 inches
- Count:50 pads
- Layers:5
- Weight:2.8 kg
- Color:Blue and white
- Materials:Plastic, non-woven fabric, tissues, pulp, SAP, and film
- Certification:FSC-certified materials
Our verdict“Choose this pad for a roomier regular-size absorbent area, but move to an extra-large format if your puppy needs broad coverage.”
Powools Puppy Pads, 22 x 22 in, Super Absorbent, Spill-Proof, 100 Pack
For buyers who need a compact pad but want more capacity than the product data lists for smaller alternatives, these Powools pads offer a specific claim: the six-layer core holds up to 7 cups and turns moisture into gel. Sealed edges and tear-resistant construction add protection when pads are used in crates, on furniture, or in a car, while the soft surface is intended to be comfortable underfoot. Compared with the Amazon Basics 22 x 22-inch pads, this Powools version has one extra layer and a stated capacity, but the Amazon Basics option lists a built-in attractant and four-sided raised border. Powools does not mention odor control, so it may be less appealing in a small room where smell management is a priority. Its 100-count pack suits regular use, though the 22 x 22-inch footprint may not contain misses from a puppy that moves around.
Pros:- Six-layer core is listed to hold up to 7 cups of liquid.
- Gel-forming core and quick-dry design help keep the surface drier.
- Tear-resistant construction and sealed edges help limit spills.
- 100-count pack supports frequent replacement.
Cons:- No odor-control feature is listed.
- 22 x 22-inch size may be too small for larger puppies or inaccurate aim.
- No built-in attractant is specified, unlike the Amazon Basics 22 x 22-inch pad.
Best for: Owners of small-breed puppies who want a 22 x 22-inch disposable pad with a stated high-capacity core for home, crate, or car use.
Not ideal for: Owners who prioritize odor control, need an attractant, or require a large pad for a puppy that misses the target.
- Dimensions:22 x 22 inches
- Pack size:100 pads
- Layers:6
- Listed capacity:Up to 7 cups
- Materials:Polymer, plastic, and cotton
- Color:Blue
- Item weight:2,650 g
- Model number:830M
Our verdict“Choose Powools for a compact pad with a stated high-capacity core, but select another option if odor control or training attractant is a priority.”
Amazon Basics X-Large Leak-Proof Puppy Training Pads, 28 x 34 Inches, 40-Pack
For puppies who miss the center of a standard pad, the 28 x 34-inch footprint offers more room to step and turn than the 22 x 22-inch Amazon Basics regular pads. Its five-layer core turns liquid into gel, while the quick-dry top and raised border on all four sides help limit tracking and floor exposure. The built-in attractant may also help direct a puppy toward the pad, though it is not a substitute for routine training. Compared with the 100-pack Powools 6-layer pads, this option gives you less supply and one fewer layer, but it retains the useful raised edge in a familiar disposable format. The tradeoff is standard absorbency: it is better for routine puppy use than repeated heavy wetting, and the 40-count pack may need frequent replenishment.
Pros:- Large 28 x 34-inch surface gives puppies more room than regular 22 x 22-inch pads.
- Five-layer core turns liquid into gel, making used pads easier to handle.
- Raised border on all four sides and leakproof lining help protect floors.
- Built-in attractant may help puppies identify the intended potty spot.
Cons:- Standard absorbency may be less suitable for repeated or heavy use.
- The 40-pad pack runs out sooner than the 100-count Powools large-pad option.
- Disposable construction means used pads need regular replacement.
Best for: Puppy owners who need a broad indoor target for early training, especially for dogs that move around while relieving themselves.
Not ideal for: Owners of large dogs with frequent or heavy accidents who want a higher-capacity core or a large supply on hand.
- Brand:Amazon Basics
- Pack quantity:40 pads
- Size:X-Large
- Dimensions:28 x 34 inches
- Layers:5
- Materials:Polymer, polyethylene
- Color:Blue and white
- Model number:XL40
Our verdict“Choose this for a roomy training target with floor-protective edges, but pick a higher-capacity option for frequent heavy use.”
COCOYO Dog Training Pads, 22 x 22 Inches, 50 Count
The COCOYO 22 x 22-inch pads are a straightforward choice for homes using pads with both puppies and older dogs: the product is described for all life stages, and its five-layer core turns liquid into gel for easier disposal. A leak-resistant polyethylene backing helps guard floors, though the description does not list the raised four-sided border found on the Amazon Basics 22 x 22-inch pads. That makes COCOYO the simpler option if you want a basic pad for several pets, while Amazon Basics offers a quick-dry surface and built-in attractant for puppy-focused training. The 50-count pack is a modest supply, and the available details do not specify an attractant or warranty. Its standard footprint can also feel restrictive for dogs that pace or miss their target.
Pros:- Five-layer construction provides multiple layers between the pet and floor.
- Absorbent core turns liquid into gel for easier cleanup.
- Leak-resistant polyethylene backing helps protect floors from liquid and stains.
- Designed for dogs at all life stages, including puppies and senior dogs.
Cons:- No built-in attractant is specified, unlike the Amazon Basics regular pads.
- The 22 x 22-inch size may be small for larger dogs or inaccurate aim.
- No warranty is listed in the provided product details.
Best for: Households that use disposable pads for dogs at different life stages and want a simple, standard-size option.
Not ideal for: Puppy owners seeking a stated attractant, a raised perimeter, or a larger pad for dogs that move around while eliminating.
- Brand:COCOYO
- Dimensions:22 x 22 inches
- Count:50 pads
- Layers:5
- Material:Polyethylene (PE)
- Color:White and blue
- Age range:All life stages
- Item weight:0.03 kg
Our verdict“Pick COCOYO for a basic pad shared across dog ages, but choose Amazon Basics if you want a listed attractant and raised border.”
Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Dog and Puppy Training Pads, 22 x 22 Inches, 50 Count
This regular-size Amazon Basics pad suits first-time training when a puppy has a defined potty area and you want features aimed at keeping that spot tidy. The quick-dry surface, built-in attractant, and five-layer gel-forming core make it more training-oriented than the simpler COCOYO 22 x 22-inch pad, whose description does not list an attractant. A plastic lining and 1.65-inch raised border help contain liquid, but the center absorbent area is only 19 x 19 inches, so the usable target is smaller than the overall dimensions suggest. That is the main compromise: for a puppy that circles or a larger dog, the X-Large Amazon Basics pad gives more room. With 50 pads, this pack also offers less backup supply than the 150-count version.
Pros:- Built-in attractant may help a puppy recognize the intended potty area.
- Quick-dry top and five-layer core turning liquid into gel support easier cleanup.
- Raised border and plastic lining help contain spills and protect floors.
- All-life-stages listing makes the pads usable beyond puppyhood.
Cons:- The 19 x 19-inch center pad is smaller than the 22 x 22-inch outer dimensions imply.
- Regular size may not give larger or moving dogs enough target area.
- The 50-count supply is smaller than the 150-count Amazon Basics version.
Best for: New puppy owners setting up a consistent indoor potty spot for a small puppy with reasonably accurate aim.
Not ideal for: Owners of larger dogs, puppies that pace while eliminating, or households that want a larger supply per purchase.
- Brand:Amazon Basics
- Count:50 pads
- Overall dimensions:22 x 22 inches
- Center pad dimensions:19 x 19 inches
- Border height:1.65 inches
- Layers:5
- Material:Plastic
- Age range:All life stages
Our verdict“Choose this for a small puppy’s defined training station; move up to the X-Large version if missed aim is a recurring problem.”
Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Dog and Puppy Potty Training Pee Pads, Quick-Dry 5-Layer Super Absorbent Design, Regular Size 22×22″, Blue & White, 150 Count
When a household goes through regular-size pads steadily, this 150-count pack reduces how often you need to replenish compared with the 50-count Amazon Basics version. The pads keep the same 22 x 22-inch format, five-layer gel-forming core, quick-dry surface, raised four-sided border, and built-in attractant, so the larger quantity does not change the fit: these are still best for puppies with a defined spot and fairly accurate aim. The listed FSC certification is a sourcing distinction, but it does not make the plastic components biodegradable. Compared with the X-Large Amazon Basics 40-pack, this choice favors quantity over coverage; the regular footprint may be too small for dogs that move around. The border can also add bulk when placing pads on a flat surface.
Pros:- 150-pad supply means fewer replenishment trips than the 50-count Amazon Basics pack.
- Quick-dry surface and five-layer core turn liquid into gel.
- Raised four-sided border and plastic lining help protect floors from leaks.
- FSC certification is listed for the product.
Cons:- The 22 x 22-inch size offers less coverage than the Amazon Basics X-Large pad.
- Plastic components are not biodegradable.
- Raised border may add bulk beneath the pad.
Best for: Owners of small puppies who use regular pads daily and prefer keeping a larger supply ready.
Not ideal for: People seeking a wide target, biodegradable pads, or a low-volume pack for occasional use.
- Brand:Amazon Basics
- Count:150 pads
- Dimensions:22 x 22 inches
- Layers:5
- Material:Polyethylene (PE)
- Color:Blue and white
- Age range:Puppy
- FSC certified:Yes
Our verdict“Choose this for a steady supply of regular-size pads, but select an X-Large pad if your puppy needs more room to hit the target.”
Powools Puppy Pads for Dogs, 34 x 28 in, 6-Layer, Leak-Proof, 100-Pack
Powools combines a large 34 x 28-inch surface with a 100-pad pack, making it the strongest fit here for homes that need broad coverage and a substantial supply. Its six-layer construction gives it one more layer than the five-layer Amazon Basics X-Large pad, while the gel-forming core and leakproof backing address cleanup and floor protection. That extra layer does not remove the need to replace pads regularly, especially with a large dog, so frequent use can still consume the pack quickly. Unlike the Amazon Basics X-Large model, the supplied description does not list a built-in attractant or raised border; buyers focused on puppy targeting may prefer those features. Powools also says the pad works best on a flat surface and should not be stacked, limiting some placement setups.
Pros:- Large 34 x 28-inch surface provides more coverage than standard 22 x 22-inch pads.
- Six-layer design turns liquid into gel and adds a layer over the five-layer Amazon Basics options.
- Pack contains 100 pads for a substantial supply.
- Listed for dogs, cats, rabbits, and other small pets, with indoor and travel uses.
Cons:- Large dogs may require frequent replacement, reducing how long the pack lasts.
- The product should be used flat and not stacked, restricting setup options.
- No built-in attractant or raised border is specified, unlike the Amazon Basics X-Large pad.
Best for: Multi-pet or large-dog households that want wide disposable coverage and a sizeable supply for indoor use or travel.
Not ideal for: Puppy owners who prioritize a built-in attractant, a raised perimeter, or a reusable setup that avoids frequent pad replacement.
- Brand:Powools
- Dimensions:34 x 28 inches
- Pack size:100 pads
- Layers:6
- Materials:Plastic, polymer
- Color:Blue
- Intended animals:Dogs, cats, rabbits, and other small pets
Our verdict“Pick Powools for wide coverage and a large supply, but choose Amazon Basics X-Large if an attractant and raised edges matter more.”
BV Leak-Proof Puppy Training Pads, 100 Count, 22 x 22 Inches
The BV Leak-Proof Puppy Training Pads pair a familiar 22 x 22-inch footprint with a stated capacity of up to 3 cups per pad, making them a strong fit for households that want substantial absorption without moving to an oversized pad. Their six-layer build includes a gel-forming core, waterproof backing, attractant, and odor-control layers, giving them a more detailed construction than the five-layer COCOYO Dog Training Pads. That extra layer count and listed capacity may appeal to owners managing repeated indoor use, though the product information does not say how quickly the surface dries. The 100-count package also supplies more pads than COCOYO’s 30-count pack, but buyers who need more floor coverage should compare these with the 28 x 34-inch Amazon Basics X-Large Heavy-Duty Pads instead.
Pros:- Stated absorption capacity of up to 3 cups per pad
- Six-layer construction with waterproof PE backing
- Built-in attractant supports indoor potty training
- Odor-control layers are included
Cons:- Drying speed is not specified
- The 22 x 22-inch size provides less coverage than extra-large options
- The product data does not explain how the odor-control layer performs
Best for: Puppy owners who want a standard-size pad with a stated high absorbency capacity and a large 100-pad supply
Not ideal for: Owners needing broad coverage for larger dogs or who require a stated quick-drying surface
- Count:100 pads
- Pad size:22 x 22 inches
- Absorbency:Up to 3 cups per pad
- Layers:6
- Materials:Plastic, polyethylene (PE), polypropylene (PP)
- Age range:All life stages
- Warranty:One year against defects
Our verdict“Choose BV if you want a standard-size pad with a specified 3-cup capacity and a 100-count supply, but choose an extra-large option for more coverage.”
COCOYO Dog Training Pads, 30 Count
The COCOYO Dog Training Pads make the most sense when portability and a modest pack size matter more than keeping a large reserve at home. At about 22 inches square, they fit common crate and indoor potty setups, while the five-layer construction uses an absorbent polymer that gels liquid and a PE backing designed to resist leaks. An attractant is included, and the pads are described for use at home, in crates, or while traveling. Compared with the 100-count BV pads, this 30-count pack means less storage and a smaller upfront supply, but it will need replenishing sooner for daily use. The data also lists no manufacturer warranty and gives no capacity or drying-speed figure, so buyers wanting clearly stated performance details may prefer BV or the quick-drying Amazon Basics X-Large Heavy-Duty Pads.
Pros:- Compact 30-pad pack is suited to travel or limited storage
- Absorbent polymer turns liquid into gel for cleanup
- PE backing helps resist leaks
- Attractant and all-life-stages use support varied training needs
Cons:- Smaller supply than the 100-count BV pack
- No manufacturer warranty is included
- Absorbency capacity and drying speed are not specified
Best for: Puppy owners who need a compact supply for travel, crate use, or trying disposable pads before stocking up
Not ideal for: Households using pads throughout the day that want a large pack, stated absorbency capacity, or a listed warranty
- Count:30 pads
- Dimensions:22.05 x 22.05 inches
- Layers:5
- Materials:Polyethylene (PE), pulp, non-woven material, plastic sheet
- Color:White
- Age range:All life stages
- Model:A33
Our verdict“Pick COCOYO for a manageable travel or trial pack, but choose BV for a larger household supply or a stated per-pad capacity.”
Amazon Basics X-Large Heavy-Duty Puppy Training Pads, 28 x 34 Inches, Pack of 50
For puppies or senior dogs who need more room to land, the Amazon Basics X-Large Heavy-Duty Pads offer a 28 x 34-inch footprint—far more coverage than the 22 x 22-inch BV and COCOYO pads. The quick-drying surface, gel-forming core, plastic lining, and raised four-sided border are aimed at limiting wetness and containing spills, which can help protect a wider area around a training spot. The tradeoff is that the listed absorbent center measures only 23.6 x 29.5 inches; the surrounding border is not usable absorbent space, so the effective target is smaller than the full dimensions suggest. At 50 pads, this pack also contains fewer than BV’s 100-count supply. I would favor it when coverage matters more than pad count, but not for tight crate spaces or buyers seeking the largest absorbent area edge to edge.
Pros:- Large 28 x 34-inch overall footprint
- Quick-drying surface is specified
- Raised four-sided border and plastic lining help contain leaks
- Gel-forming absorbent core and built-in attractant support training
Cons:- Absorbent center is smaller than the full pad dimensions
- The raised border reduces usable absorbent area
- Pack of 50 provides fewer pads than BV’s 100-count pack
Best for: Owners of larger puppies or senior dogs who need a broad indoor target and added perimeter leak protection
Not ideal for: People with small crates or limited floor space, or buyers who want the full outer dimensions to be absorbent
- Quantity:50 pads
- Overall size:28 x 34 inches
- Center pad size:23.6 x 29.5 inches
- Border width:2.2 inches
- Layers:5
- Materials:Plastic, non-woven fabric, tissues, pulp, superabsorbent polymer, and film
- Color:Blue and white
Our verdict“Choose this Amazon Basics option when broad coverage and a raised leak barrier matter more than compact fit or a larger pad count.”

How We Picked
I compared each option through the daily needs of puppy potty training: usable surface area, stated absorbent-layer design, leak protection, and pack format. Those details affect whether a pad can catch a puppy’s aim, how it fits in a chosen spot, and how often a household may need to restock. I also looked at practical differences between regular and extra-large sizes, and between standard and heavy-duty labels, without treating a product name as proof of performance beyond the information provided.
The ranking favors pads that make a clear case for routine use, then distinguishes alternatives for larger coverage, particular pack needs, or simpler setups. The Amazon Basics 22 x 22-inch, 150-count option leads for its stated quick-dry five-layer design and substantial pack count. Larger Powools and Amazon Basics pads rank well for households that need more coverage, while smaller or lower-count formats can fit tighter spaces or buyers who prefer smaller packs. When products share a brand and size, I treat the stated construction and count—not brand familiarity—as the meaningful differences.
| puppy training pad | Color |
|---|---|
| Honey Care All-Absorb Dog and | — |
| Powools Puppy Training Pads | Blue |
| Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Dog a | Blue and white |
| Amazon Basics Heavy-Duty Puppy | Blue and white |
| Powools Puppy Pads | Blue |
| Amazon Basics X-Large Leak-Pro | Blue and white |
| COCOYO Dog Training Pads | White and blue |
| Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Dog a | — |
| Amazon Basics Leak-Proof Dog a | Blue and white |
| Powools Puppy Pads for Dogs | Blue |
| BV Leak-Proof Puppy Training P | — |
| COCOYO Dog Training Pads | White |
| Amazon Basics X-Large Heavy-Du | Blue and white |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Puppy Training Pads
Choosing puppy training pads is less about finding a single feature winner and more about fitting a disposable surface to your dog, room, and cleanup routine. I’d work through coverage, placement, replacement habits, and the training setup before choosing a pack.
Match Pad Dimensions to Your Puppy’s Aim
A pad needs enough usable area for your puppy to step onto it, turn, and finish without reaching an edge. Measure the intended spot first, then leave room around the pad if your puppy tends to circle before going. A larger format can help with misses, but it may crowd a narrow bathroom or block a walkway. One common mistake is choosing by the word “large” without checking the actual dimensions. If your puppy reliably uses the center, a regular pad may be easier to place and replace. If accidents land near the edges, added width may matter more than extra pack count.
Read Layer and Leak-Protection Claims in Context
Layer counts and leak-proof wording can help compare construction, but they do not tell you how well a pad will perform in every home. A more absorbent design may suit a puppy who uses one spot repeatedly, while a lighter everyday option may be adequate when pads are changed promptly. The surface underneath matters too: carpet, hardwood, and a washable tray each carry different cleanup risks. Avoid assuming that a leak-resistant pad makes placement on a delicate floor risk-free. Check whether the dimensions give you enough margin around the likely target area. If leaks would damage flooring, a separate waterproof holder can add protection beyond the pad itself.
Choose a Pack Size Around Your Change Routine
Pack count affects how often you need to restock, but it is only useful when paired with the pad’s size and your replacement schedule. A puppy who needs frequent changes can go through even a large pack quickly, while a smaller household may prefer a lower count that takes less closet space. Estimate daily use for a few days before committing to a bulk format. This avoids buying a large supply of a size your puppy dislikes or outgrows. Smaller packs can also be sensible when testing a new pad style. For regular use, compare the number of pads with the space available for storing them.
Plan the Pad’s Place in Potty Training
Pads work best when the chosen location is consistent and easy for your puppy to reach. Moving the target around can make it harder for a puppy to learn where to go, even if the pad itself is suitable. Place it away from food and sleeping areas, and keep the route clear for a young or small dog. If the eventual goal is outdoor pottying, consider how you will gradually shift the routine rather than setting up pads in several rooms indefinitely. A pad does not replace timely trips outside or supervision. Choose a format that fits a defined training plan, not just the most convenient spot on the floor.
Decide Whether Heavy-Duty or Extra-Large Is Worth the Space
Heavy-duty and extra-large pads address different problems: one emphasizes a sturdier or more substantial design, while the other provides more coverage. Do not assume that a bigger pad is automatically more absorbent, or that a heavy-duty label means it will suit every puppy. If the puppy’s aim is the main issue, extra width may help more than a thicker construction. If the pad is used for longer stretches, construction may deserve more attention, alongside frequent checks and replacement. Larger pads also use more storage space and may not fit standard trays. Pay for added size or construction only when it solves a problem you actually have.
Frequently Asked Questions
Should I choose a 22 x 22-inch pad or a larger 28 x 34-inch pad?
Choose by the area your puppy actually needs, not by size labels alone. A 22 x 22-inch pad can suit a small, consistent potty spot and is easier to fit in tighter rooms. The 28 x 34-inch formats in this roundup offer more room for puppies who move around or miss the center, but they take up more floor and storage space. Measure the intended location and check whether the larger pad will stay flat without blocking access. If you are unsure, watch where your puppy lands before buying a large supply.
Does a higher layer count mean a pad will not leak?
No layer count can guarantee a leak-free result in every use. Construction is one comparison point, but leakage can also depend on how much liquid the pad receives, whether it is changed promptly, and whether the puppy hits near an edge. A larger pad can provide extra margin, while a waterproof holder may protect the floor beneath it. Keep the pad on a flat surface and replace it when it is soiled rather than relying on layers to extend use indefinitely. For sensitive flooring, treat the pad and the floor protector as separate parts of the setup.
Is it better to buy a large pack before I know which pad my puppy will use?
Usually, a smaller pack is the safer starting point if your puppy has not used pads before or you are changing sizes. Puppies can have different habits around texture, placement, and how much room they need, so a bulk purchase may leave you with a format that does not fit your routine. Once you know the dimensions and design work for your home, a larger count can reduce how often you restock. Compare pack count alongside pad size rather than treating count as the only measure. A short trial can also show how many pads you use in a typical day.
Can puppy pads go on carpet or hardwood without a holder?
They can be placed on many surfaces, but a pad alone does not remove the risk of seepage or a miss. Hardwood seams, carpet fibers, and uneven floors can all complicate cleanup if liquid reaches beyond the absorbent area. A waterproof tray or holder helps keep the pad in place and adds a layer between it and the floor. Make sure the holder fits the pad dimensions so edges are not folded or left exposed. Check the area regularly, especially while you are learning how your puppy uses the pad.
How do I avoid confusing my puppy when moving from pads to outdoor pottying?
Keep the pad location consistent at first and build a predictable schedule around meals, naps, and play. When you are ready to favor outdoor trips, take your puppy out at regular intervals and reward the behavior you want there. Some households gradually move the pad closer to the exit, while others reduce reliance on pads as outdoor successes become reliable. Avoid placing pads throughout the home, since multiple targets can make the intended routine less clear. Progress depends on the puppy, so adjust the pace rather than removing the pad before outdoor habits are established.
Conclusion
For an everyday starting point, I recommend the Amazon Basics 22 x 22-inch, 150-count pads as the best overall pick, thanks to their stated quick-dry five-layer design and substantial pack. The Powools 22 x 22-inch, 100-pack is my best value-style choice for buyers who want a regular-size supply, while the Amazon Basics X-Large Heavy-Duty, 28 x 34-inch pads are the best premium-style fit for households prioritizing added coverage and a heavier-duty format. Beginners may find a regular-size, moderate-count pack easier to place and test before committing to a bulk supply. For puppies who need a wider landing area, choose one of the 34 x 28-inch Powools options or an Amazon Basics extra-large pad; for a compact spot, stay with a 22 x 22-inch format. My final check would be the exact dimensions, count, and stated construction on the package, since several lineup options are close in name but differ in practical fit.
Halloween Picks

Star Wars Yoda and R2-D2 Inflatable Halloween Decor, 6 ft with LEDs, Indoor/Outdoor

HOPOCO Halloween Pumpkin Fog Machine with 12 LED Colors & Remote Control

ELAMAS 11ft Animatronic Flying Witch Halloween Decoration
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
















